Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

The Freaks Come Out At Night

Posted by evankessler on April 16, 2010

The great thing about New York City is its diversity. All types of people living in one confined space ensures that at any hour of the day you’re guaranteed to come into contact with something you’ve never seen before.  I believe Alicia Keys and Jay-Z termed it best when they called it “concrete jungle where dreams are made of.”  However, if you’re in the market to see some freaks or people that just leave you generally unsettled, it’s a good bet that riding the subway late at night, you’ll see all you’ll ever need to see.

After enjoy a few drinks in the city yesterday evening, I waited for the 2/3 train at 14th street only to be notified that neither the 2 or 3 was running to Brooklyn.  Rather than hop outside and waste my fare, I decided to wait for the L to take me to Union Square where I could switch to the Q.  After nearly 25 minutes waiting for the L, my patience was rewarded, but my reward wasn’t solely the train that was taking me a measly two avenues.  Rather it was what I saw when I entered the train.

Na'Vi New Yorker

There was a man in full Avatar  Na’Vi garb: Blue skin suit, ears, mini stilts under his feet, the works.  Unfortunately I was at a side view from this James Cameron enthusiast and even though I had my camera I didn’t want to be too obvious about taking his photo, although he probably wouldn’t have minded since he was inviting obvious attention.   I did spy a few people trying to be less obvious with their iPhones as he chatted with a friend in more traditional subway dress, which is to say he was dressed more like John Connor than the T-1000.

Though I wish I had ridden alongside him to gawk even longer, I had to get off at the next stop and transfer to the Q.  Avatar Guy may have been the craziest thing I’d seen all night, but that didn’t mean he was the only crazy that was out.  On my subway ride back to Park Slope, I stood three feet away from a man who was showing off his punching, kicking, and general fighting prowess in the vicinity of the poll whilst doing a little mumbling to himself and flashing the occasional look to any and all who might be moved to invade his subway space. He seemed to back off a bit though when he realized he wasn’t the most imbalanced person on the train.  A woman with a weird gray mark on her head and brown-stained red sweatpants came storming down the aisle to move between cars and he straight backed the hell off, sliding himself defensively up against the doors until she passed.

The subway at night.  It’s a wonderful place.

Leave a Reply

 
