Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Wildflowers

Posted by evankessler on April 14, 2010

Tom Petty’s Wildflowers album came along at a strange, but perfect time in my life.  The shooting pain in my heart that I felt from the gaping wound opened by the recent realization of an unrequited teen-aged love was still fresh in my psyche.  I remember a feeling of abject misery as my good friend Rob and I made our way to the Tower Records on Route 59 in Nanuet, New York a few days after my birthday and the subsequent event that left me rather dizzy with the sort of depression that years later you look back on and laugh at; not because it didn’t hurt, but because you’re a kid and you didn’t really know that things would get better.

Wildflowers had probably been out for some time and I liked “You Don’t Know How It Feels” and “It’s Good To Be King,” but I wasn’t that familiar with the other songs contained within.  Rob took it upon himself to bestow me with a birthday gift that has kept on giving to this day.

Admittedly it had been awhile since Tom Petty’s 1994 effort sans The Heartbreakers has hit me in the perfect mood, but today was such an occasion.  I emerged at the end of a subway ride back into Brooklyn from Manhattan when the album came on my iPod.  As soon as the song “Wildflowers” hit my ears I noticed the surrounding cherry blossoms and general flow of life in my immediate vicinity. I began pondering both the springtime metamorphosis and the growth of myself as a more confident and mature individual.  By the time it was over, I didn’t so much care that the people around me “don’t know how it feels to be me” nor did I have the desire to “get to the point and roll another joint” or any joint for that matter. The third song, “Time to Move On” seemed like it was spurring me along to get past all of the petty pointless stuff in life and just get to living.  I appreciated that.  While the rest of the album didn’t have as profound an effect as the first three songs while strolling in the sun, I couldn’t help but feel perfectly in step with Mr. Petty and the music.

Leave a Reply

 
