Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Cover Me

Posted by evankessler on December 12, 2008

opensaloncoverpage

As anyone who reads this site on a regular basis knows, this is not my only address on the world wide web.  In fact, I probably have at least six other blogs floating around the digital ether.  I recently added another wrinkle to my more than ample web presence as I started a blog on Salon.com‘s user generated content site Open.Salon.com.

The main focus of the new blog is to be place where all of my random humorous essays can live and breathe and actually have an audience.  As someone who is trying to get a writing career going, I find the built in audience element and regular feedback to be an encouraging aspect that more or less forces me to be self promotional in a way that I haven’t really attempted before, by thrusting my words before a community of strangers.  I’ve taken this move as an exercise in boldness and  facing my slightly crippling fear of being judged.  So far my not-so-much- of a gamble has paid off as three of the four pieces I’ve written have been chosen as Editor’s picks.  The most recent, a piece on the interpretation of my online persona aimed at potential employers, even made the site’s cover page yesterday.

Anyway, I encourage you all to check it out and try to keep up with it.  I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting on there, but I think it’ll be kind of often as I frequently get oddly humorous whims that I feel the urge to act on and have somebody react to.

One Response to “Cover Me”

  1. Oh, no, AND they have an option to let you easily import entries from your existing blog straight to Open Salon? I’m ten seconds away from worldwide acclaim here, I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

 
