Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Catch A Rising Star

Posted by evankessler on November 20, 2008

2265124561_c72dae4334

I couldn’t sleep last night so in order to curtail my own restlessness I decided it would be a good idea to google myself.  Somewhere between the 19th and 22nd pages of the search results I came upon an IMDB page for myself.  Now, I know I spent a good deal of time toiling away in TV Production, but I never took it upon myself to create an IMDB page.  Sure, I’ve created several other self-promotional pages (this one being the most obvious), but I never once felt compelled to see myself listed alongside the likes of Martin Scorcese and Steve Guttenberg, unless of course there was to one day be a film based on my life.  Then I’d gladly have Guttenberg portraying me while Scorcese directed.

So imagine my surprise when I clicked on it and found details about my involvement in the production world.  Sure they didn’t list my involvement in VH1’s Top 20 Video Countdown or any of my time working on the I Love The 70’s, 80’s or 90’s series’, or even the R. Kelly Trapped In The Closet Special, but they did however note that I served as a Story Producer on Soapnet’s The Fashionista Diaries.  Despite the correct documentation of my role in that production I was disheartened to see that I was listed as being involved in only two of the ten episodes, when in fact I served the same role throughout the duration of the series.  I have no doubt that someone in IMDB-land will see fit to correct this error.  Other than that, I’m quite pleased with being visible in yet another of the World Wide Netweb’s virtually countless avenues.

The most delightful part about this find was the encouraging sight of the StarMeter.  According to this popularity-gaging instrument it would seem that my STARmeter reading has risen 121% in the past week.  I have no idea why this is, but it is certainly an encouraging sign that things are headed in the right direction for me.  Maybe if I move to Hollywood it will skyrocket 200%.

A Closer Look at My STARmeter

A Closer Look at My STARmeter

Actually, I think this STARmeter thing could be a great new strategy in convincing potential literary agents to take on any projects I pitch their way.  All I’d have to say is, “look at my STARmeter…If that’s not enough to tell you this book will sell then I don’t know what is.”

In a related story Natalie Portman’s STARmeter is down 6% today.  I think she needs to latch herself onto someone up and coming; someone whose star has recently risen more than 120%, otherwise her career could be in danger.

Leave a Reply

 
