Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Spain Puts Pee-Pee In Your Coke

Posted by evankessler on August 12, 2008

Greetings from Island-y Rhode Island.  I’m not going to elaborate why I’m in the Ocean State today…I suppose I can leave that for tomorrow’s post; but since I’ve been on the topic of the Olympics recently and not on your mom, I thought I’d share this tidbit that surfaced on the Yahoo! Sports feed via the UK Telegraph.

It seems as though the Spanish Olympic Basketball team thought it would be a good, non-racist idea to take a photo of themselves prior to heading to Beijing with the entire group pretending they had slanty eyes.

The photo was actually used in an ad for a courier company that sponsors the team.  I don’t know who the genius is who came up with this one or if it was a spontaneous act of bigotry, but I’m wondering if those in charge of this campaign had anyone resembling a gatekeeper in their employ to make sure this wouldn’t see the light of day…let alone make it the lead image.   I wonder if there’s a TV ad using a similar tactic in which the Spanish players replaced there double L “y” sound with rolled r’s (i.e Como te rramas?).  Well I guess the ad sort of worked since people are talking about it.   I suppose there’s no such thing as bad publicity…especially if you want everyone to know how ignorant you are.


Leave a Reply

 
