Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Hard Travelin’

Posted by evankessler on March 4, 2008


I’ve been havin’ some hard travelin’, I thought you know
I’ve been hittin’ some hard travelin’ way down the road
I’ve been havin’ some hard travelin’, hard ramblin’, hard gamblin’
I’ve been havin’ some hard travelin’, Lord

That’s right, EvanKessler.com has made it safely to Canton, Ohio in search of the the Pro Football Hall of Fame. To say it’s been an eventful trip so far would be quite the overstatement. I pulled into the North Canton, Red Roof Inn at around 4:30pm. I spent a good 7 hours and 15 minutes on the road after leaving Rockland County at 9:15am, however, the trip was shorter than that as I accidentally made a rong turn early in my trails that took me a good 20 minutes out of the way and the 2o minutes it took to get back would have landed me in Canton somewhere around 3:45. None of that really mattered though, as long as I made it to my destination.

In all honesty, once I hit the road the journey wasn’t all that harrowing. It was more or less a straight line through Pennsylvania all the way to the town our 3rd assassinated President William J. McKinley called home (at one point). I went through towns such as East Stroudsburg and State College. I passed signs for Punxsutawney and nearly got off to investigate, but I carried on through Youngstown and thought of the Bruce Springsteen song of the same name. Despite not listening to Youngstown as I drove through Youngstown, which was actually the most daunting traffic situation of the entire trip, I made it through 111 songs on my iPod and I sang nearly every one of them aloud save for the few that I zoned out on as I was trying to figure out whether or not I was on the right path. That spell included a brief portion of R.E.M’s Automatic For The People, but the rest was pretty much clear sailing. There was one portion when I wasn’t sure if I should keep following 80 West or continue straight on what was supposed to be 76 West. There was no sign for 76 West but I kept on the road anyway and was rewarded handsomely when I saw the Stark County Bridge trumpeting the county’s shining landmark.

I’m Not Sure This Is Called The Stark County Bridge But If You See It Up Close It Has Football Stuff All Over The Structure

Arriving at my destination was nearly as simple as driving to a friend’s house when you first got your car. I pretty much knew where I was going, all of the directions after my first hiccup were pretty much second nature. It was “go straight for 450 miles and make 2 rights and you’ll be at your hotel. You can’t really get any easier than that.

Once I got here it was another story. I didn’t really know what to do with myself. I was in the market for a fantasy baseball magazine so I went to the mall that was more or less adjacent to my hotel. However, they didn’t have a bookstore or any place to acquire magazines. I walked around aimlessly through a few strip malls hoping to run into a bookstore or a pharmacy as I had come down with a headache from staring at the road and the sun which was setting in the west as I drove in that direction. Ultimately, I settled down at Ruby Tuesday’s and grabbed dinner and a beer. I asked around what there was to do in downtown Canton seeing as I was in the North part of town but everyone I asked advised against making a stop in the part of town unadorned by a directional, insisting that it was too ghetto. Rather than take my chances in a strange town where I had been warned by it’s inhabitants of it’s indesirability, I chose to wander to the gas station convenience store to purchase necessities such as a paper, pen, and fantasy baseball magazine which I had never seen before in any of the New York newstands. The entirely of the rest of my evening was spend nerding out and enjoying the confines of the Red Roof Inn. Thus, day one of Hard Travellin’ came to an end. Tomorrow…Football!

One Response to “Hard Travelin’”

  1. JBforHOF said

    http://johnbrodieforfootballhalloffame.bravehost.com/

    Fans of John Brodie, QB of the 49ers from 1957 to 1973, and the great San Francisco 49ers, are helping get John R Brodie, enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. We are asking all fans of the 49ers to write or fax a nominating letter to the hall of Fame, for Brodie to be enshrined as a senior candidate.
    We have made a webpage and there are addresses and sample letters you can use. The cut off date for a 2009 nomination is March 1, 2008, so we need the letters sent soon, please. Here is the address:
    Send your letters to:
    Pro Football Hall of Fame
    Attn: Nomination Committee
    2121 George Halas Drive NW,
    Canton, OH 44708

    or Fax: 330-456-9080

    here is the page with the sample letters:
    http://johnbrodieforfootballhalloffame.bravehost.com/samples.html

    There is also a Myspace:
    http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=308917219

    and an online petition, for fans to sign: http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/johnbrodie/
    Thanks so much for your help, despite having suffered a severe stroke in 2000, Brodie is still active and follows his beloved 49ers.

    “Many people we have contacted are surprised that Brodie is not already in the Pro Football Hall of fame because of his awesome stats as a football player. In his seventeen year career with the San Francisco 49ers, John Brodie was one of the foremost quarterbacks in football. A quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers from 1957 through 1973, a 17 year run, John Brodie threw for 31,548 yards and tossed 214 TDs in 201 career games. He appeared in the Pro Bowl in 1965 and 1970. He was named NFL/NFC’s Most Valuable Player in 1970.
    His statistics clearly show him to be worthy of the honor of being inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame is the greatest honor that can be bestowed upon a football player and John Brodie is more than worthy of such an honor. He was among the leading passers in the league throughout the 1960s. His best statistical year was 1965 when he led the League in passing average (3,112 yards) and 30 touchdowns. When John Brodie retired from the NFL, he ranked third in the NFL in career passing yards.”

Leave a Reply

 
