Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

That Awkward Feeling

Posted by evankessler on February 7, 2007

I know it’s a little late to talk about yesterday but let’s talk about it. I put off posting last night because A, I went on a date and B, when I returned my internet was not working and I opted for bed instead.

Earlier in the day I had resumed my iPodyssey on my way for an informal job interview over at HBO. I resumed my musical journey with “Mr. Wendall” where I had left off the previous evening. Afterwards I was immediately thrust into the Mrs. section as Loretta Lynn sang about “Mrs. Leroy Brown”. When I made it to the site of my interview I was up to Ween’s “Mutilated Lips”. I hoped that song would not serve as foreshadowing for an interview that would be filled with stuttering and stumbling, but luckily it was a relatively laid back affair and rather brief, totally probably 20 minutes in all. Nonetheless, there was nothing discouraging about it, and I hopped back on the train to Brooklyn shortly thereafter.

When I arrived back home it was to the sounds of Outkasts “My Favorite Things”. I decided that I would not go out until the bitter cold until later so I watched “Bull Durham” for research purposes and readied for my date set up by Match.com, which I am not really a fan of. I’m much happier meeting someone through friends, though this hasn’t proved effective lately, if ever. So I’m on the hunt, so to speak, but a laid back hunt at that seeing as I’m not the predatory type.

I’m not going to divulge any date specifics save for one. We went to one of my favorite bars in Brooklyn at the request of my female counterpart. However, when we arrived there, my least favorite bartender was slinging drinks. The main knock on him is that he plays his own music mixes that are not very good and sometimes include Creed. He also tends to repeat them several times in a night. As my date and I sat down, Nirvana’s “Rape Me” blared over the speaker above our table. Rape was not a theme I was willing to discuss on a first date. I ignored said song while making normal, rational discussion. Several songs later Sublime’s “Date Rape” came on. Again, I did my best to ignore the awkward theme in the music which is not exactly romantic. I managed to skillfully avert the conversation until these songs came around a second time and we were forced to discuss the awkwardness. In any case, if I ever set foot in my favorite tavern when this bartender is working, I shall step out and head somewhere else. When we left the bar, the bartender had shut off the music and began playing his guitar for the 4 patrons in the front, who could not have been in the least bit interested. I had to wait patiently through two minutes of painfully awful lyrics before being able to pay my tab. Ugh.

Oh, and I just want to nitpick on a few headlines I read on the interweb today. The first one was on yahoo!, and it read, “Ex NBA Star Amaechi to reveal he’s gay in new book”.

Thanks yahoo, but now that you’ve revealed he’s gay, I guess I don’t need to read his new book to find that out.

Also from Yahoo! “Brazil vows to install Condom Machines in Schools”.
This made me wonder if they’re also replacing the gymnasium with a night club, or if the bathrooms will have those guys that give out candy and cologne for tips, because schools could really use those too. Instead of study hall you can be the bathroom guy for a period.

Okay, I’m done. I’ll be back with more later.

Leave a Reply

 
