Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

"Happy" Holidays

Posted by evankessler on December 23, 2006


Well it’s about that time. Time for me to spend several days all by my lonesome while plenty of other folks go on vacation or enjoy the company of their family in celebration of the Holidays. I can’t help it if I haven’t accept Jesus Christ as my lord and savior, I just haven’t had the impulse to be saved yet. Sure I’ve been down and out plenty of times but I prefer to pick myself up by the metaphorical bootheels rather than have someone do it for me.

Okay, enough of all this religious talk…sometimes I get so wrapped up in my preaching ways that I forget the task at hand. The task that is telling you what I listen to on my iPod everyday. I’m starting to worry that these iPodyssey posts are getting a little formulaic, but I suppose that formula only really has to last until I’m done and then I can be formulaic about an entirely different subject. I suppose if a formula works (and by works, I mean gets me 10 to 15 web hits a day and maybe one comment) then I guess I’ll just stick with it. Speaking of sticking with it, I “stuck with it” all week and managed to muster up the energy to go to work on Friday. Luckily for me and the rest of the fellow employees at my place of toil it was a half day. I woke up this morning and had a bit of spring in my step knowing this. I also knew that today was the day I’d break through to the 8th letter of the alphabet on my iPod journey.

The day began as yesterday’s ended with the acoustic version of Uncle Tupelo’s “Grindstone”as I walked out of the apartment followed by doubles of Pavement’s “Grounded” as I walked to the Atlantic St. Station. I took the 6 train today because on my producer’s request I had to drop a tape off at the history Channel before getting in to work today. That delayed my work arrival time until around 10:45 but it certainly increased my song count before arriving. While I rode the 4 train to my East side destination I had to stop reading my book bask in appreciaton of Neko Case’s “Guided By Wire” and perhaps one of my favorite songs of all time, “Gun” by Uncle Tupelo. The last G song was Aimee Mann’s “Guys Like Me” and it started somewhere between 14th St. and Grand Central, and as I exited the train at 42nd St., Mos Def’s “Habitat” burst on the music scene that doubled as my $11.99 Sony in ear brain blasting headphones (though I guess technically they’re earphones).

Along my journey I came upon a few mythical beasts and more Pavement doubles, this time it was “Half A Canyon”. I finally arrived at work to the holy voice of Jeff Buckley belting out anything but a cold and broken “Hallelujah”. This song would be interrupted several times throughout the next couple of minutes forcing me to restart a couple of times because it’s a song that you definitely have to sit and appreciate. At one point I was sent out on another run to return a 70’s TV we had rented, since our intern was not there to do it. However, no cab would pick us up so we got a messenger to handle the 75lb plus package.

The rest of the day was kind of easy, though I scrambled to get some things in order I was focused on a hard out at 3pm. My editor showed me some of what she had been working on as well as some South Park Christmas stuff on her iPod and I actually achieved my goal at making it out at 3 on the button. I arrived home in Brooklyn a little while later to the strains of Kasey Chambers singing “Hard Road” after 9 consecutive songs dealing with “happiness” or being “happy” and one song with Evan Dando talking about a “hard drive”.

I played it lazy for a bit after returning home so early. There were no roommates in my apartment and I wondered where they had gone, though I suppose I figured that they would either go home or at least not be around this weekend. It would be so easy to just lay here and celebrate my apartment independence but I knew there would be plenty of time for that, so I showed some initiative and went to the gym. I have to say, I’m looking forward to not having a job for a couple of weeks so I can at least get into a gym routine. Sitting down at a desk all day has put some pounds on this meager frame of mine. I’d like to shed at least some of them.

As my workout began I was blessed with a moderate song in “Hard To Be Human” by Mekons, followed by The Strokes and The Black Crowes. The energy was flowing until I hit the Pearl Jam B-side “Hard to Imagine” which isn’t a bad song but just not the right mood for any intense exertion of energy. All in all there were 11 hard songs, including two in a row by Ryan Adams. It must be hard to be Ryan Adams. After all of the hardships, the Datsuns kicked it up a notch with “Harmonic Generator” and Neil Young nearly put me to sleep on the elliptical with “Harvest”. The workout would soon end and my day ended one-fifth into Cat Power’s “Hate” after 62 songs.

Not much happened with my night after that. I made a few calls and determined nothing was going on, so I’m writing this in the middle of a movie doubleheader of Beerfest and Clerks II.
Anyway, I’m not sure how much posting I’ll be doing over the next few days, but I’ll probably keep it up. It depends how much listening I do. Alright, time to watch Clerks II. Keep reading and I’ll keep writing.

Friday’s Best: Neko Case “Guided By Wire”, Uncle Tupelo “Gun”, The Arcade Fire “Haiti”, Jeff Buckley “Hallelujah”, Happy Mondays “Hallelujah”, Jenny Lewis with The Watson Twins “Handle With Care”, Old 97’s “Hands Off”, The Beatles “Happiness Is A Warm Gun”, Clem Snide “Happy Birthday”, Cracker “Happy Birthday To Me”

Leave a Reply

 
