Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Bad Beautiful Baby

Posted by evankessler on December 1, 2006

This picture came up in a google image search for “Because He’s Leaving”

My road to Z continued today and I’m happy to report that we’re out of the A’s! Don’t drop confetti and balloons from your ceiling just yet. We’ve only just begun (white lace and promises) and we’re only on the letter B. Which, if you’ve seen that episode of Sesame Street, you’d know it is but the 2nd letter. However, I have made quite the dent today rolling through 91 songs. The road to B began (oh man that’s a b-word!) where we left off last night with some “At” songs. “At My Most Beautiful” (R.E.M.) and “At My Window Sad and Lonely” (Billy Bragg & Wilco). I thought we’d blaze a trail straight to the B’s from there but not before hitting up Springsteen’s “Atlantic City” and some stellar tracks beginning with Aw. The last song in A was Hole’s “Awful”.

We sprang into B with the lengthy “B-Boy Bouillabaise”, “B-Boys Makin’ With The Freak Freak” (Both Beasties tunes) and one of the greatest songs ever, Outkasts “B.O.B”. I’m not sure if any stretch of songs will be as good as today’s but you never know as I am surprised by something each day I continue with this labour of love, which just so happens to be the name of nearly every UB40 album.

The repeats were surprisingly tolerable today. On my way into work I heard Uncle Tupelo’s album version and demo version of “Atomic Power” which really is up there for me in terms of covers of 1950’s political folk. The Demo version is not very different but I like the song so much that had it been on random I would’ve played it at least one more time.

Later in the day, I heard the album and live versions of The Old 97’s “Barrier Reef” which being one of my favorite shower songs, managed to keep me delighted through consecutive listenings.

My journey to C should be relatively shorter than the one through A, the reason being any letter can come after A to make a word, there are only so few letters that can combine with B as a 2nd letter, which is why we’re already up to BE. Our last song of the day was Mary Lou Lord’s “Because He’s Leaving”. In between I heard 10 “Baby” songs, 9 “Bad” tunes, 8 “Beautiful” ones, 5 “Ballad Of” ‘s, but only one “Bathysphere”. If my knowledge is correct, there won’t be any BF songs or BG. It’s straight to Bi followed by Bl, Bo, Br, Bu, and By which certainly limits the number of B possibilities.

Today’s Favorite tracks: “At My Window Sad and Lonely” (Billy Bragg & Wilco), “Atlantic City” (Springsteen), “Atomic Power” (Uncle Tupelo), “Autumn Sweater” (Yo La Tengo), “Aw Shit Man” (Minus 5), “Away” (Kathleen Edwards), Away With The Pixies (Ben Lee), “B.O.B” (Outkast), “Baby C’mon” (Stephen Malkmus), “Baby Gets High” (Blake Babies), “Backseat” (Cibo Matto) “Bad” (U2), “Bad Cover Version” (Pulp), “Ballad of Big Nothing (Elliott Smith), “Ballad of Bitter Honey” (Eef Barzelay), “Ballad of Carol Lynn” (Whiskeytown), “Barbara H.” (Fountains of Wayne), “Barricades and Brickwalls” (Kasey Chambers), “Barrier Reef” (Old 97’s), “Barstow” (Jay Farrar), “Bathysphere” (Cat Power), and last but not least “Beanbag Chair” (Yo La Tengo).

Leave a Reply

 
