Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Journey to The Center (End) of My iPod

Posted by evankessler on November 28, 2006

This past Tuesday I began one giant undertaking. I use the word undertaking because I think it denotes a giant task…or it denotes burying a dead person but let’s settle on my first interpretation, shall we?

I decided on Tuesday, November 21st that I would attempt to listen to my iPod from beginning to end, all 4500 plus songs. Why did I do this? Perhaps the book I was reading at the time, which featured a main character who was Obsessive Compulsive, had something to do with it. It was not my intention to record any diary but upon second thought and at the urging of my roommate Marty, I’ve decided to log some of my experiences during this great journey of mine.

It all began on Tuesday morning with Outkast’s “?” and then was followed by Elvis Costello’s “…And in Every Home” not due to the “A” at the beginning of the title, but because of the “…”. it seems Evan Kessler’s best friend (the iPod in question’s name) alphabetizes in order of punctuation marks, then numbers, followed by the actual alphabet. So in this case “…And In Every Home” was followed by’ “T” is for Texas’ on account of the quotation marks around the letter T. I was pleasantly surprised by each subsequent alphabetical selection. There were a good deal of songs that began in parentheticals as well, 13 in all. The first number song I hit was Stephen Malkmus’ “1% of One” at song number 18 and I finally hit the first proper A song with Rilo Kiley’s “A Better Son/Daughter on song number 68.

As a result of Saturday’s trip to the gym I had ended my weekend a good 120 songs into my journey on Billy Bragg’s “Accident Waiting to Happen” . As it were, during my workout I had to endure three consecutive versions of “About A Girl”; the first being Cibo Matto’s from the Moonchild EP, the subsequent version being the Nirvana album version and the ungplugged. You’d think moments like these would have discouraged me but I was determined to forge ahead.

Monday morning began where it left off Billy Bragg’s “Accident Waiting to Happen” and ended with a bit of The Beatles “All You Need is Love”. The most remarkable part of where it ended was that from the time I left work at around 6:30, to the time I arrived home from the gym, every single song I had listened to had “all” in the title (31 consecutive “all” songs), from Clem Snide’s “All Green” to the previously mentioned Beatles tune. Somewhere in there were three consecutive songs entitled “All My Life” by Echo & The Bunnymen, Evan Dando, and Foo Fighters. I also realized that most of the songs with “All” in the title were kind of downers. The Magnetic Fields “All My Little Words” and Spiritualized’s “All of My Thoughts” did little to get me revved up on the elliptical machine though I persevered.

Finally, I couldn’t believe how long the “All” onslaught continued…through Ben Folds “All U Can Eat” to Billy Bragg and Wilco’s “All You Fascists”, and finally The Beatles. I was a good 183-184 songs in and not quite sure when the Am’s were coming. Well, I’m not sure if they’re coming soon but I think maybe the first one will be “Am I Too Late?” by the Old 97’s. Time will tell.

Today’s Ipod Journey Highlights:
Mary Lou Lord “Aim Low”, Magnetic Fields “Acoustic Guitar”, Uncle Tupelo “Acuff-Rose”, Elvis Presley “All Shook Up”.

Leave a Reply

 
