Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

If The Gloves Don’t Fit You Must Admit

Posted by evankessler on November 17, 2006


I know this story’s been out for a couple of days now but since I’ve gone out drinking 3 out of 4 nights this week I’ve kind of missed the boat on internet commentary. That didn’t stop me from commenting at work but what kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t cover the whole OJ “If I Did It” book story and interview.

I missed the TV interview with the Juice as well so I’m pleading ignorance on the whole thing and maybe my point of view’s been covered but this is my take on it.

I can’t for the life of me understand why O.J. would’ve thought it was a good idea for an “innocent” (read “not guilty”) man to go on TV and write a book about how he would’ve murdered his wife had he not been doing something else (read “murdering his wife”) that night. It’s about as good (read “infinitely worse”) an idea as making a prank TV show in which you try to sell your infamous Ford Bronco. If O.J. has any handlers which I hope he doesn’t (I’m assuming PR people do not want to touch him with a ten foot pole) how could they let them go through with it.

It’s much too late for O.J. to be painting himself in a favorable light after the latest stunt. In hindsight the only sensible option for post-Murder O.J. other than moving to Bahrain would have been to take up a career with the W.W.E. (read former WWF) as a Wrestling bad guy and spend each night getting booed in a different arena across the great nation of ours. People might actually start remembering him as the guy who hit John Cena over the head with an illegal object instead of the guy who murdered two people, which could only be good for his reputation.

Instead he’s opened the door for an entire series of “If I Did It…” tomes by the likes of Phil Spector, Scott Peterson, Charles Manson, Saddam Hussein and Robert Blake. Oh O.J. how did you wander down such a sordid path? Where’s the guy who rushed for over 2,000 yards in a season for the Buffalo Bills? Where’s Nordberg? Where’s the guy leaping over people at the airport terminal in car rental commercials? Where’s our loveable sideline reporter? I blame myself a little bit but mostly I blame hookers and coke.

Leave a Reply

 
