Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

T- Minus 23:53

Posted by evankessler on November 3, 2006

Well. I’ve got less than 24 hours until I hit the magic marker (not one of those delightfully smelling ones) of the age of 28. And while I’d love to say that I’m absolutely delighted as I usually am before my birthday, my mood has been quite ponderous as of late.

I’m caught between the need to write something enjoyable and the desire to write something serious. This effort will probably amount to neither. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and this being the dawn of my 28th year I’ve decided that this is the year I have to FUCKING DO SOMETHING! I’m not sure what though. Do I write a book? Write a play? Keep writing this boring blog? Make my shirts a international fad? Try stand up comedy? Do more improv classes? Move to Poland? What? I don’t know. Who knows maybe I’ll finally work up the courage to do something instead of beating myself to death and wishing something good would happen to me.

For those of you who think all of those options were a joke, I actually went to a seminar on Wednesday night to hear about the opportunity to teach English abroad, and I have to be honest it was more than tempting. The options that sounded the most appealing to me were Germany, Poland, Czech Republic and Hungary. If I wanted to make a lot of money I’d go to Japan or Dubai but I don’t think they like Jews in Dubai. Maybe I’m wrong. Apparently there’s conversation cafes in Japan where they pay Americans $30-$40 an hour to speak conversational english to Japanese folks who just want to practice.

Anyway, I’m not sure if I’ll actually go to Poland or anywhere for that matter…my head is all over the place and in concert with my heart obviously wants some sort of change. Whether that has to do with where I’m living or what I’m doing remains to be seen, but the Evan Kessler Birthday Celebration XXVIII must usher in a period of change.

That being said, if you’d like to attend the Evan Kessler 28th birthday gala, call me before Friday night.

One Response to “T- Minus 23:53”

  1. Mira said

    We don’t have a problem with Jews, in Dubai. There are already many Jews living in Dubai, both Arab and non-Arab. We certainly don’t like Zionists, though.

Leave a Reply

 
