Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Halloweekend

Posted by evankessler on October 30, 2006

We haven’t hit October 31st yet but the Halloween celebrations were in full swing this weekend. Having spent the earlier part of the week fretting over whether or not my planned costume would ever come to fruition, I arrived home Friday to find a mini-Evan puppet sitting on the kitchen counter all ready to go. Marty Dundics, I say kudos to you for your phenomenal showing in both the dependable roommate department and the artistic ingenuity department.

Marty hard at work on Mini-Evan





Having your own puppet is simply sensational. I highly recommend getting one. Marty doesn’t make them regularly but I’m sure you can go to his website and badger him to make one for you. Anyway, back to Friday night. I was absolutely delighted to have my own puppet and was ready to make the scene at my first halloween party as a bad ventriloquist. Unfortunately, before I headed back to Manhattan for Deb, Jess, and Londa’s Halloween Party, it started to rain and I had to put Li’l Evan Kessler in a bag. Part of me wanted to hone my act as I walked to the subway but instead i carried him very carefully making sure to not accidentally separate his head from his body. When I arrived at the party I was one of the first people there, which is pretty much my modus operandi (or for those in love with abbreviation M.O.). I was greeted by the roommates as well as several familiar faces, Anna M and Londa’s sisters. I think they were all dressed as sorority zombies or something and Jess was a golddigger.

People were immediately complimenting on my costume which I was half expecting. The other half of me thought people were going to be berating me for not really dressing up and just carrying something around as my costume. I have to admit, I can’t find fault in that reasoning.
As the evening wore on the party space got more and more crowded. It would’ve been wide open had it not been raining outside because the original plan was to push everyone out of the apartment and onto the terrace. An ill effect of the lack of personal space was that I kept having to lift puppet Evan up on high so as to not impede on people’s personal space, also it was too loud to really do a ventriloquist act. Puppet Evan was also a personal impediment because it turned from a manageable entity to a 15 inch behemoth whose dimensions I was completely not used to dealing with. At one point when I was entering the bathroom, while trying to avoid the obstacle of a skeleton inconveniently hung in the bathroom doorway, I moved puppet Evan towards the wall and knocked a small picture frame off the wall, shattering the glass on the bathroom floor. On my return from isolating the glass into a safe area, I nearly destroyed a picture in the kitchen but caught it before it went smashing to the ground. Let this be a lesson to all of the kids reading this…having your own puppet is fun, but it can also be dangerous. I spent much of later part of the party in an unpopulated area of the apartment conversing with Starling, Sarah, Maureen, and Mike B and having puppet Evan kiss people on the head. At the end of the party I was notified that I had won best costume. My prize was a 40 oz. budweiser and a halloween Pez dispenser. Unfortunately, I was too drunk to want to really want the 40, so I just took the Pez. Overall, it was an enjoyable night despite the small Puppet-astrophes. Maureen and I eventually split a cab home, though I have no idea what time that was.

Puppet Evan Cozies Up To Maureen

Rubbin’ Noses Like The Eskimoses

Having Your Own Puppet Means You Can Do This

….and this.

I woke up Saturday morning not exactly rarin’ to go for our pending Saturday night Brooklyn Halloween bash, but since it was my first party at my new apartment my anticipation was building by the minute. I cleaned my room in preparation which fortunately did not take as long as I estimated it would. I rearranged the wiring as well seeing as for the first several months that I’ve lived here I’ve had wires all over the place. It’s a wonder I didn’t trip more, not in an LSD way but it that way where you fall in your room and break your neck and one of your roommates you discovers you lying in pool of your own blood way. It was overall a pretty lazy saturday though leading up to the party. I got some Madden time in though which was valuable me time.

The first person to show up to the party was Reva followed by her friend from work, Mike. We had a pretty small crowd for awhile and then people slowly filtered in. Many of whom I did not know. The party was kind of odd though in the way that once my friends started showing up they were scattered at all ends of the apartment and I felt as though i didn’t spend that much time in the main room getting to meet other people. It’s not an awful thing, I kind of forget that that’s what hosting a party is like and I seem to remember conveniently the day after I’ve hosted a party at my abode. Nonetheless I had some quality conversations with Matt F, Marie L, Suli, Rebecca, Joe D, and others. Maureen, Laura B, Brian D, and Andrew M, made a brief appearance as a flight crew. The most creative costume has to go to Mackenzie and Dell who came as Jellyfish but their costumes were too big to keep around all night. They made a big entrance and pretty much put their costumes in Rob’s room for the rest of the night.

Reva the hamster, Marty the toga wearing guy, and Rebecca the librarian engage in costumed conversation

Mackenzie in her Jellyfish getup

Jason and Deirdre: Everyone’s Favorite Figure Skaters

In general, Mini-Evan and I got along much better than at the previous evening’s party. We didn’t knock anything off walls though we did have problems locking the bathroom with one hand, though going to the bathroom one handed was a piece of cake. There were many more compliments aimed at the puppet as well and we even did a mini routine that was very poorly executed. It was brief and went something like this.

Me: How are you doing tonight Mini-Evan?

Mini-Evan: How do you think I’m doing? You’re hand’s up my ass.

END SCENE

This costume was fun but I think for next halloween I have to be a character instead of myself I might be a sexy cat. The crowd would soon dwindle down to a few folks After the party emptied out a few of us went to Union Hall in costume, though I put on my jeans with
Puppet Evan still on my right hand, which proved to be a challenge. We stayed at Union Hall for a drink or two and I made small talk with a couple of strangers who inquired about Li’l Evan and we somehow ended up talking about VH1. I think Chris M and I were the last two of our group there and then we headed back to the apartment. I was completely unaware of the “Fall Back” time change but I guess that happened so I have no idea what time it actually was when we returned. Apparently I passed out with my music on full blast, my lights on and my door locked. I’m not quite sure how that happened or how I didn’t wake up sooner than 8am to turn off my lights and music. Furthermore, I never lock the door to my room…weird.

For the first half of Sunday afternoon I enjoyed watching the Giants soundly defeat the Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17-3 and then I headed out to Manhattan for drinks with a few folks. After drinks, I strolled through the old neighborhood to take a peak at what was being done with the ol’ apartment. So far, nothing. It’s still in the same old crap condition except it looked as though there was some work being done to the restaurant downstairs from where I used to live. The upstairs however looked as though it was probably in worse condition than it was left. I should’ve taken a picture. One of the windows was smashed in and I can’t imagine the roof has held up in my old room with about 5 months worth of rain. It was starting to collapse just before I left. Oh well, what do I care, I don’t live there anymore.

After strolling by 271 Bleecker I stopped by Grey Dog and picked up my favorite sandwich for old times sake. Oh West Village how I miss you. Brooklyn is treating me well but alas she’s not you. I’m sure I’ll grow to love her just as much but we were together for almost 5 years and you don’t just forget all of the good times. Sigh. Alright time for another week at work and a mere 5 days until I turn 28. Wow. Am I old? According to late Aaliyah, “Age ain’t nothing but a number”. Actually I don’t know if she said that but that’s what one of her albums was called. True she was 14 at the time so what did she know.

Leave a Reply

 
