Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Bimonthly Terror Alert

Posted by evankessler on July 12, 2006

Well, it’s official, Fox 5 just notified their viewers that Rudy Giuliani thinks that there will be another terror attack on US soil. Thanks Fox 5 for the fear-mongering reminder. My feeling on the whole thing: As long as my phone lines they’re tappin’, I better not see any explosions happen. If they’re impeding on our rights they could at least do so without telling us that they’re not sure if it will work. We’re about 20 minutes into the newscast and pretty much every story has been a specific terrorist threat. I think Fox is trying to keep their viewers up all night cowering in fear and watching reruns of “Just Shoot Me”.

In the meantime, I came across an absolutely asinine story on yahoo about a movement to simplify spelling to make people more literate. The way to simplify it, spell everything phonetically. So, for example, this entire paragraph would look like this.

In tha meentym, I caym ucraws an absolootlee assinyn storee on yahoo abowt a moovmint to simplifuy spellng to mayk peepl mawr liturit. Tha wey to simplifuy it, spel evrything funetikly. So, for exampull this entyr parugraf wood look lyk this.

Here’s the link:
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060705/ap_on_re_us/simpl_wurdz

How spelling words like a complete idiot cures illiteracy, completely eludes me. For one thing, no one will know what the hell anyone is writing because everyone’s phonetic accents have the potential to be different. Furthermore, words are spelled a certain way because they have roots, and these roots are clues to the meaning and origin. If you know the root of the word but do not know the meaning, you at least have a fighting chance of extrapolating to find the meaning, but minus those roots, you are completely lost in the woods. If you ask me, these advocates for misspelling for literacy are doing nothing but advocating illiteracy and are themselves total morons. That’s my rant for the day. I know it has nothing to do with my personal life but it really pisses me off to no end. If you know me, you know I have strong feelings against using unnecessary abbreviations and emoticons in favor of words in all forms of writing so when I see an article like this I feel as though it is my duty to say something.

Leave a Reply

 
