Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Wining and Dining

Posted by evankessler on February 8, 2006

(PASTED FROM MYSPACE BLOG)

Wednesday, February 08, 2006

Wining and Dining
Current mood: indifferent
Category: Blogging

I’m not used to blogging in this myspace thing. I miss my evankessler.com crude microsoft word format. Despite my reluctance to blog on here, I suppose I will press on. It will only be a few days until I have my lovely Powerbook G4 back. I brought it into Tekserve yesterday to get it repaired since I dropped a shelf on it a few months ago and have been waiting for the perfect time to get it fixed. That perfect time was yesterday since I am going to Florida tomorrow for some family stuff and to get out of the city. I figured by the time I got back my laptop would be out of the shop and good as new again for the low, low repair cost of $355. Ouch! That hurt more than my trip to the dentist yesterday. Though my mouth was numb for about two hours after the dentist and when I tried to eat afterwards I couldn’t feel what pipe the food was going down, so it probably was a dumb thing to do. Anyway, despite being without my lovely mac, I miss ITunes more than anything. Luckily I can plug my Ipod into my stereo but it’s just not the same.

I feel like I should write a haiku about my computer. Here it goes:

Powerbook G 4

You are the light of my life

The light has gone dark.

That’s the best I could do on short notice. Anyway, aside from that yesterday was eventful for other reasons. I had a phone interview ith a career counselor (at 9am, damn!) for the 2nd time in 2 weeks, but its free so I’m taking advantage, I’m not really srue how much it is helping but its interesting to learn that my personality type could just as well be an accountant as much as creative writer. Seems a little fishy if you ask me. I’m not sure if I’m buying into it. I’m also not sure if it’s getting me any closer to figuring out what my career goal should be. Perhaps, I should write a novel or do somebody’s taxes and then I’ll have my answer. Not that I’m really trained for either of those.

Later on yesterday afternoon, say 4:30pm I received a call from the Adam Starling. He called to tell me that Betsy, Maureen, Anna, and himself were drinking wine at the Vintage Wine Bar on Broome St. After waiting for my landlord’s son to come by and take a look at our stove, I ventured out to meet them.

The Vintage wine bar is a wonderful place. You can sample wines for $1 a glass. For the next hour and a half or so the bunch of us sat there sampling various wines. I had 5 different samples. I think everyone did actually. Well actually Betsy had 17 but that was because she was there the longest and though that makes her sound like a drunken lush, I need to point out that 17 of these samplings is the equivalent of about 3 and a half glasses of wine, so it’s not really bad in the least.

Afterwards, Maureen, Betsy, Adam, and I headed to Milady’s where we were later met by Noelle for some dinner, drinks, and discussion. I think I was completely out of it at this point but all in all it was still an excellent time. It was better than my original plan for the day which was just going to the gym after coming back from the repair shop.

Okay, this is where this entry ends. Though I have to point something out. Marty said I should post my blogs on myspace or friendster so people could respond and participate more so than on my website but it hasn’t happened yet and I’m slightly skeptical that it will. I know it’s only been two days but so far, no dice.

Leave a Reply

 
