Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Birthday-oke

Posted by evankessler on November 7, 2005

I have to say, it was quite the stellar birthday weekend. I spent the majority of my birthday on Friday sitting at home and trying to download the version of Paula Abdul’s “Opposites Attract” with the MC Skat Kat rap (as previously predicted). I didn’t have much luck. Though I eventually found the video on a Paula Abdul Fan site. At around 7pm Matt Wood and I headed out for a little pre-party meal at Crif Dogs where we met up with Adam Starling, Betsy Van Stone, Noelle Stehman, Anna Mikelson, Deb Miran, and Mike Haigh. After a a couple of dogs and a beer our crew headed to the birthday festivities at Planet Rose on 13th and A in the East Village.

Matt Wood And Noelle Stehmann with the best karaoke performance ever.

I think Mike Haigh kicked off the singing with “Don’t Stop Believin'” though my memories of the evening are sort of fuzzy. Betsy surprised me with her rapping prowess on the Eve song she sung and Matt Wood and Noelle Stehman had did the best version of any karaoke song ever when they did a duet of “Islands In The Stream”. My first of many performances on the evening was Duran Duran’s “Rio”. I think I was a little bit annoying at some point in the evening because I think I joined in just about everyone’s song. Hopefully, I get a free pass on stepping on other people’s spotlight because it was my birthday, but if not, I apologize. Overall the turnout was outstanding. I couldn’t have been happier. It’s always fun to see who’s going to show up and plenty of folks were there, too many to name There’s always a few disappointments when certain people don’t make it but I think the surprises always outweighed the no shows.

“We come together cause opposites attract.”
Maureen Hoban does double her part for world peace.

My favorite moments of the evening I think were my duets with Jess Sabin on “Opposites Attract” and “Somewhere Out There”. Jess even got me a hat with Velcro letters that she had arranged to say “opposites attract” specifically for our performance. It was pretty kick ass. I’m going to have a lot of fun with that gift. Laura Renga also got me a USA for Africa shirt that I almost lost, which would have been tragic, and my brother’s friend Frauke got me an Eels CD, which seemed like an odd choice of a CD to give to someone but it’s a good album nonetheless and is much appreciated. Oh, my brother also got me a shirt that has a picture of a Yeti peeing his name in the snow. So, now I have two new shirts in the rotation, which is ideal since I’m going to have to retire a few soon. Anyway, there was plenty more singing, I performed Lisa Loeb’s “Stay” for the third time in the last several months as well as some songs I don’t remember performing, I think. Around 3am Arby, Jess Rash, and I went to Cheap Shots but I felt too drunk and got a cab. All of that was according to Rich anyway. Apparently, I got a slice of pizza and fell asleep on the couch.

“You Say, I only hear what I want to”

Brothers gonna belt it out.
Just A Couple of Former Ramapo Gryphons Hangin’ Out.

I woke up at 9:30AM Saturday, fully clothed on my couch, at which time I grabbed some green tea for recovery from across the street and then promptly went back to bed for the next 4 hours. When I finally reawakened, I decided to go on a trip to the Virgin Megastore and use a gift certificate I had received the night before. My original goal was to get the Strangers With Candy 1st season DVD and maybe one other DVD but I walked out of there with 4 New DVDs. The rest of my afternoon was spent being lazy and watching the 1st disc of the Strangers with Candy DVD which is seriously one of the most wonderfully politically incorrect shows ever.

At around 10:15pm I met up with Bess Sobota at Rodeo Bar and we took in about an hour and a half of Earl Pickens before heading over to Dip at 12:40 where Erika Greene was celebrating her birthday. we were joined by Joe Dworkin, Sulaiman Beg, Jen Ball, and Charlotte Klein amongst others for about another hour and a half of fun and beer drinking. It was a friendly and funny get together that was marred by a stolen birthday present. Erika had been given the Dawson’s Creek Season 5 dvd as a birthday gift and it was stolen from their table just before leaving. Oh the humanity! We were perplexed by who would want to steal a Dawson’s Creek DVD. Anyway, Saturday night was not as hectic as Friday but it was just the right amount of fun.

If you read this blog regularly you don’t really have to ask what I did today. That’s right I watched football. Though I had to call my family friend Bruce before the games started because we had to square away our weekly football picks. Bruce and I have been picking games against each other for probably about 15 years now. The loser each season has to buy the winner lunch. I owe him a dinner. The only reason I’m mentioning this arrangement is because he asked me to mention it in the blog. Anyway, despite a sloppy game the Giants won and I am happy. It was almost a perfect weekend. The only thing that could’ve made it better was to have a totally hot make out session with an attractive girl. I guess you can’t always have it all. Though I have to be honest, with the amount of liquor I imbibed on Friday I may not have remembered. I guess it’s a good thing that I have a lot of pictures of the weekend, though to be honest Arby and Janet Turley took way too many pictures of themselves for the 2nd straight weekend. Anyway, I’d like to thank everyone for coming out this weekend. I had a fantastic time. I’d love to name everyone one of you in this blog but I don’t want to forget anyone because none of you deserve to be left out. That makes no sense.

Just one of 90 pictures of Rich and Janet on my camera from the past 2 weekends.
One Response to “Birthday-oke”

  1. […] Rose on the Lower East Side was when the fun was supposed to start  trying to re live the glory of three birthdays ago.  Unfortunately, I was the only one there on time.  Actually, that’s not totally true as […]

Leave a Reply

 
