Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Back On The Job

Posted by evankessler on September 27, 2005

Today was the first day of the rest of my three weeks at VH1 and the rest of my life for that matter. Most of my day was spent getting back into all of the VH1 systems. I had to get my phone reattached and my email set up again. I was in an office all alone and I quickly realized how slow the day goes when you’re working. Really, it’s pretty brutal. I’m sure most of you know that since you probably haven’t had the last 4 months off as I have. Really, who am I to complain? I will say this that I think I spent more money today than I would on a normal day of not working. I guess that makes sense though. I had to get lunch in the Times Square area and that always sets me back at least $8. For lunch I walked with Maureen to Europa Café and Hale & Hearty Soups. As we were walking in I walked into the delightful Brigid who subletted Matt W’s room for a month this summer. That was a pleasant surprise as I thought she had gone to England. We had a quick catching up conversation and then went separate ways as Maureen and I headed inside.

Inside Hale & Hearty I was overjoyed to see my favorite soup back on the menu. I stopped going there because they had stopped serving the cream of tomato with chicken and orzo. Now I know what’s for lunch tomorrow. This is what I have to get excited about in the working world. Though I’ll be honest, I think the show I’m working on will be fun. There’s not much other news to report since I don’t think much can happen to you when you’re sitting in an office. I long to be back living the good life, waking up at leisurely hours and doing things at my own pace. In three weeks, this office stuff might all be a memory, or maybe I’ll be back into it. One thing’s for sure, I’m certainly well rested and perhaps it’s time to turn it in and get some more.

On a completely different note, I also realized a couple of hours ago that the song “Opposites Attract” by Paula Abdul has the potential to be the greatest karaoke duet of all time. I just need to find someone who is willing next time out.

Leave a Reply

 
