Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

In Memoriam: Jasky Raju 1980-2005

Posted by evankessler on May 7, 2005

The world got a lot dimmer today when Jasky Raju tragically passed on this morning. Jasky was one of the kindest, funniest, friendliest, and had perhaps one of the most illuminating presences of anyone I have ever met, just a genuine good person. He was always in a great mood and tended to put everyone else in a great mood just by being around him. He also liked to argue with me that Pink Floyd doesn’t suck. While I considered him to be a good friend, he had a way of making everyone feel like his best friend. We will all miss the warmth that his presence provided. I wish I could write more and be infinitely more eloquent but I’m at a loss for words. I’m sorry if I don’t write a funny, wacky, weekend recap describing the events that occurred on Friday night at least but I can’t help but think that it’s completely unimportant and wholly inappropriate. Thank you for all of the good times Jasky.

2 Responses to “In Memoriam: Jasky Raju 1980-2005”

  1. layla love said

    I was just dancing alone in my bedroom before resting and Jasky kept popping into my head– in the beginning it was all the time and now just once in a while– but i goggled his name and this is the first thing that came up…

    so thank you for writing it– feeling and living with the love and light that remains.

    May we be grateful for the time we have on this earth– the love we live and make- the friends who have forever touched our souls… May we keep making beautiful bold art…

    much love to you Jasky– you shine on with a million shades– bring peace to our purpose…

    with never ending respect for the tribe wherther on this earth or else where….

  2. redteddy said

    Wow. I cannot believe it. I purchased a painting of Jasky. It was hanging on the wall in a bar on the lower east side. I called and he met me at the bar and we chatted and I brought the painting home which is hanging in front of me right now. I don’t know of one person who hasn’t commented on this painting. Later Jasky and I hung out a few times. I visited him at the apartment he shared with his flat mates in Williamsburg. I always told him that when I develop my property in Belize I would have liked him to come down and paint a mural for me. I left the US for a few years and didn’t hear of his death until I began googling his name when I returned home to NY. ‘Put Me Inside, I only Wish I could Fall In’ is written at the top of the painting and if you look closely you’ll find STCTS. I asked him about this and he told me it meant ‘Some Things Change Things Sometimes’. Why only sometimes? Why not every time? I’m so glad I took the time to call Jasky and buy this painting and meet such a wonderful talented person. I’m am very sad to hear of this.

Leave a Reply

 
