Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Dinosaur Delight

Posted by evankessler on April 22, 2005

Well it’s been a relatively sober night after last night faux smokefest. That doesn’t mean it’s been unfulfilling. In fact, unfulfilling is the antithesis of how’d I’d describe the events of this evening. After failing to make the trip to Dinosaur Barbecue last week my Brother, Sean Maddison, Joe McCarthy (not the Senator) and myself trekked up to 131st in 12th to partake in meaty madness or rapacious rib eating, which ever you’d prefer. We met at the apartment at 7:30 and then high tailed it up town on the 9 train with our mouths watering. Honestly, I was a little hesitant as I had a weird headache and was slightly paranoid that I was going to have an aneurysm but that fear ultimately subsided when I got a beer in me.

We only had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated, which dwarfed the amount of time I’d previously had to wait at this fine culinary establishment. Our stomachs grumbled with anticipation as we scanned over the menu. When our friendly waiter came by we all ended up getting ribs. Sean and Joe got a full rack while Greg and myself stuck with 3/4 racks. For sides I got the Syracuse Salt potatoes and Iceberg lettuce with “Bar-b-que Blues Dressing”. I have to be honest. I miss the mashed potatoes and do not understand why they are not a menu item. They were the best menu item other than the ribs at the Syracuse restaurant. I guess it’s not exactly as good as the one in Syracuse but the ribs are wonderful and worth the trek uptown as is the rest of the food.

Greg apparently had two major announcements to make at the dinner table that ended up not being important at all. His first announcement was that a breakfast restaurant that we went to a lot that had been closed for a year and a half was still closed and I forget what the other announcement was. Joe, Sean’s friend from San Francisco, was telling a story about Dogs who were on death row who were given a second chance in a program that basically turned them into rescue dogs. However, the term Death Row Dogs sparked a really awesome idea. I’m not even sure I should be posting this online, but imagine a show about dogs on death row but voiced over by people. It would be like The Adventures of Milo and Otis meets Oz. Think about how great that could be. Imagine the prison fights.

After about 20 minutes we had all managed to clear off our plates save for Joe who was given a tongue lashing by our waiter for not being able to finish two ribs. We were all pretty full but Greg saw a dessert that piqued his interest and Sean decided to up the ante and get a second dessert that we all shared which put us in quite the food coma. Overall, the monetary damage of the dinosaur was not too steep and it was worth every penny. I love that place, though I would welcome a pilgrimage to our Barbecue Mecca in Syracuse.

Leave a Reply

 
