Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Full of Crap

Posted by evankessler on March 17, 2005

I wanted to write about this last night but I was unable to sit in typing position. Last night the book club I am in (stop laughing) met at my apartment for some dinner and to discuss the latest book we had read (well sort of read), Random Family by Adrian Nicole LeBlanc. The book is basically a look at Hispanic families living in the Bronx in the early 80’s. The entire story basically consists of girls being molested by their mother’s boyfriends’ at a young age, and the girls turning 12, becoming sexually active and getting pregnant by drug dealers or break dancers multiple times and then so that the cycle repeats itself for their children to struggle through. Good times. Actually it was very interesting at first but every successive chapter introduced about 5 new characters and by about the 6th chapter I had completely lost track of what was going on and who was who. I didn’t make it much past page 100.

Anyway, back to the actual book club meeting. Each of our book club meetings has a dinner theme. Our theme this time was cafeteria food since all of the kids in the book were cutting school we decided to celebrate the foods they were missing out on. I got home around 7pm and started making grilled cheese sandwiches and crinkle cut fries. Jess Smith showed up around 7:45 with fruit, tater tots, and assorted sandwiches from the rest of her group. Deb Spokony was right behind her with girl- scout cookies and milk. Orly Sigal, Samantha Martin and her friend Gina went to get Juice boxes and mozzarella sticks. Already this sounds like the gayest meal ever, but anyway we sat down and ate the food and started discussing the book. Soon after Lauren King and her fiancée Justin came. I think they brought devil dogs, canned fruit and green beans. Everything was great while we were eating it. We had a relatively small group and I’m surprised how much food we ripped through. The book was only discussed for about 15 minutes tops and we moved on to other topics that come up. It’s more of a dinner get together than a book club. We were a little short of the normal bunch this week but it was still fun.

Everyone left at around 10:30 but had helped me clean a good deal. I finished cleaning at about 10:45 and settled down to watch The Daily Show. When The Daily Show ended all of the food had settled in my stomach seemingly expanding it tenfold, and I could feel every inch of it. It may have exploded if not for it’s extreme elasticity but it sure felt like it was about to. I was literally in pain from all the food I ate and seriously contemplated making myself throw up but that wouldn’t have been very pleasant. So I just rode it out and I thought I was about to die until around 3am. When I think the majority of the greasy crap in my stomach had been digested and I could finally go to sleep.

I woke up this morning and was still full. I really didn’t have to eat today if I didn’t want to. I think I could go about 4 days without getting hungry. My entire nutritional intake today consisted of a bowl of Special K and a salad. I’m still debating whether or not to eat tomorrow. Well this has been a relatively unpleasant and unnecessary post.

Leave a Reply

 
