Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Language Lessons

Posted by evankessler on March 9, 2005

I wasn’t going to post tonight but since I’ve been getting so many hits the past couple of days I sort of felt the need to keep the evankessler.com faithful happy, not that there are more than 3 or 4 of you and also because I think I may be busy over the course of the next couple of nights.
All I really did tonight was go to my brother’s apartment tonight and have some homemade soup and watch Hero. As my brother and I had some of his delicious vegetable soup he told me that he had received an email from a guy that had gone to camp with us almost 10 years ago if not more. In the email the guy asked my brother how he was along with the following gem, “I’m getting married. OMG.” What is wrong with that quote? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? If you haven’t figured this out yet, you may be part of the problem and not part of the solution. The letters OMG do not actually spell anything. They’re a lazy person’s excuse for the words “oh”, “my” and “god”. I told my brother to respond only in letters to see if the guy could decipher it. It seems the internet has made people way too lazy to actually communicate via the art of the complete sentence much less the complete phrase or god forbid complete word. Other examples include using the combination 4U to substitute for the phrase “for you” or n2 in place of “into”. The words “for you”only contain 6 letters. I just typed the words “for you” in less than 2 seconds. It takes me about the same time to type 4u and that combination just missed my destroyer. Also there’s the ever popular ROFL and LOL, which are the same as say “funny” or “haha”. Those also take the same exact time to type as their online counterparts. What that means is, that when you think you are saving time, you’re probably not. It’s much easier to write out your words an avoid confusion and annoyance. Talk to you later (2 seconds). Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

 
