Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Crappy Day

Posted by evankessler on January 6, 2005

Not only is it crappy as far as the weather goes but today we learned that our show is moving floors and that everyone from Segment Producers (me) down would be working in a cubicle. I know, this sounds like nothing but when you’ve been working in an office and enjoying your privacy for over a year it’s bound to piss you off. That being said, most everyone on my show was irate about the move except for those already inhabiting our target floor. Worst of all, nobody can figure out the actual reason for the move. I’m not a fan of sudden unnecessary change. They’re moving our show upstairs, when the floor we’re on now is the actual floor where our edits are. Meanwhile, the show moving to our floor doesn’t have edits on our current floor either. They say it’s so that our entire team will be together but as of now there are only 4 people from our show on the other floor and it hasn’t been a problem. They basically told us that they were moving us out of our offices because they like us and that they want us to be nearer to the executives and the people they don’t value as much can sit in our offices as a consolation for not being as valued, or at least that’s how I took it. I just think the execs want the bigger offices up there. Whatever the reason I think it’s going to be a complete logistical nightmare and will remain massively inconvenient for the next few months. It will also test friendships as some of my best friends will remain on the 6th floor as I am shipped off to 31. Oh and another thing, god forbid there’s an emergency in the building, we have the monumental task of going down 31 flights as opposed to an easily descended 6 in our current location. Ok, I’m going to move on before I completely lose it.

On the bright side I watched Syracuse route St. John’s in basketball tonight and I made some improvements on the website. Now there’ll be a weekly poll question. Hooray. And for the 3rd straight day, I’ve been extremely tired before midnight, which does not happen often, so I think I’m going to call it an early night. Tomorrow is another day and hopefully a better one.
Wait just a second. I’m talking on IM’s with Adam Starling and suddenly I’ve figured out what my calling is. Adam Starling and I are going to start a career in witty banter. We want to be the arena rock equivalent of witty bantering so much so that we can engage a massive crowd with our witty banter anthems and the crowd can banter along. We’ll eventually fill venues like Madison Square Garden, Wembley Stadium, and the Hollywood Bowl. People will come from near and far to hear our witty banter. We’ll release platinum selling albums of unrehearsed witty banter about current events, weather, politics, religion, sports, and other people’s witty banter. The future’s so bright I gotta wear shades.

Leave a Reply

 
