Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

A Lonely Jew On Christmas Weekend

Posted by evankessler on December 27, 2004


Since you last joined me, well, nothing has happened. Heck, I didn’t really get off the couch much since last post. Since 1:32pm on Friday I’ve seen 1 friend, taken 1 shower watched 5 movies and eaten one full order of Chicken in Garlic sauce amongst other things. It’s been a hell of a Christmas weekend, but what’s a Jewish boy to do when all the people are away doing other things.

Friday night Sarah F called me up because she was in the neighborhood and grabbed some dinner at Boxer’s on W.4th Street. There were about 8 people in the entire restaurant and the streets were pretty empty at that point. After Sarah went back uptown I went to TLA to rent 2 movies. I rented 24 Hour Party People and Donnie Darko. I watched the first of those that night and sat up til about 4am watching anything on TV. Saturday was more of the same but I was determined to get out of the house. On my way through Washington Square Park to get to the Loews theatre at 3rd and llth for the 4:45 showing of Closer and got offered drugs about 4 times as I strolled through the park.

It never ceases to amaze me how many times I get offered drugs per walk through. You’d think those guys might take Christmas off. I think the only people in the park were the 8 drug dealers and the one guy wanting to play chess.

I do have to say, the city is extremely peaceful on Christmas Day. There’s nary a soul around except those attending a movie or in Chinese restaurants, a.k.a. the Jews. It was enjoyable to walk down the sidewalk and see the city at a stand still. It changes from fast paced to slow motion. If only it wasn’t so cold outside I could probably just sit outside and enjoy it for hours on end. Anyway, so Saturday night was Donnie Darko and more couch potato TV viewing til around 4am.

Today I woke up at 1:09pm and watched the Giants lose their 8th straight game and dropped off the dvd’s at TLA, went to the gym, and rented two more dvd’s from Evergreen on Carmine. Tonight’s choices were Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind and The Girl Next Door. I can’t really explain the latter. I think it was because I had gotten 4 other relatively mature movies I sort of felt the need for something light hearted and stupid so I figured the high school flick was just the ticket. All in all my weekend of nothing was extremely relaxing but I think I’m ready for some social interaction this week. Maybe this blog wasn’t so interesting. It’s hard to write about doing absolutely nothing. Anyway, what’s everyone doing for New Year’s? I still have no plans. Something will come up.

Leave a Reply

 
