Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Congratulations!

Posted by evankessler on October 21, 2004

Congratulations are in order this evening for the Boston Red Sox and their fans as they came back from a 3-0 series deficit to the Yankees, winning the last 4 games to take the AL Championship Series. So this goes out to you Arby, Marie, Zach, Ted Kim, and just really anyone who’s a Sox fan that I know. The Yankees got wrecked by a score of 10-3 and David Ortiz took home ALCS MVP honors. After here that guy talk, he now reminds me of Pedro Cerrano from Major League. He hits like it too.

I almost didn’t actually get to see the game. When I came home from work my brother was settling down with his Czech model friend, Linda to watch Bad Boys. I was almost in shock. I don’t know what’s gayer, Greg wanting to watch a movie with a hot girl who isn’t going to sleep with him, or me actually thinking he should watch the baseball game instead of watching a movie with a hot chick. Don’t answer that. I had to go to a Boxer’s, a bar around the corner to watch the first couple of innings all by my lonesome. Well, there were lots of other people at the bar so I guess I wasn’t alone. I think all of the bar’s in the West Village near me had a majority of Sox fans. This is probably due to the fact that none of them could get into the Riviera so they had to scatter to other bars around the area and turn them into Boston bars. That being said, my brother called me when he was done watching Bad Boys. By the way, doesn’t that seem like a strange movie to be watching at any given time? I mean, turn on TNT on Saturday and you can watch Bad Boys. Imagine this interaction.

Me: Are you going to watch the game (probably the biggest game of the year)?

Greg: No, we’re watching Bad Boys. What time does it start?

Me: (confused) 8pm

Greg: Oh, well then we’ll probably watch the end.

That sort of exchange doesn’t make any sense on the night of a game of such high importance. That being said, I got to see most of the game and by the time I got to watch it at home the game had already gotten out of hand. Anyway, congratulations to the Sox and I hope they win the World Series.

Leave a Reply

 
