Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Old 97’s

Posted by evankessler on September 24, 2004

I don’t really have much to say other than any concert that starts with “Barrier Reef” and ends with “Timebomb” off of Too Far To Care, is absolutely perfect by me. I saw the Old 97’s tonight for the third time since January and the third time in my lifetime but it was extremely memorable. I think my favorite moments were when anything from “Too Far to Care” was performed but for the most part it was an exceptional show. From all of the songs on Satellite Rides, Drag It Up, Fight Songs, and Too Far To Care, there could not be a more perfect concert. They even did a cover of Merle Haggard’s “Mama Tried”. Rhett Miller and company do an excellent job of keeping the energy at a constant high during their performances. In my third time seeing the 97’s I felt equally as energized as the first time I saw them. I would love to be objective and tell you about flaws within the set but I just can’t find any; This band is extremely solid. Even Miller’s solo material “Come Around” and “Four Eyed Girl” were met with equal enthusiasm as other 97’s favorites. The band has an uncanny knack for keeping people tuned in and turned on to its sound. Nothing but bouncy country twang mixed with an ideal measure of pop perfection.

Leave a Reply

 
