Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Making A Mix

Posted by evankessler on June 29, 2004

A couple of weeks ago John Vacanti had come to me with an amazing idea that a friend of his had pitched to him and I’m going to share it with you because I think it is one of the most wonderful ideas of all the ideas in the world. Step 1, Get a group of 6 or 7 people who have similar musical tastes, or whose musical taste you trust. Step 2. Each month one person makes a CD. Step 3, Mail out this mix to the other people. Step 4)Alternate person every month. Step 5) Once cycle is done repeat until someone makes the most awful mix in the world or if consistently bad mixes are made containing only bootleg grateful dead and phish and dave matthews tunes.

So I was sort of thinking about what I would want to put on my first mix and I’m having a little trouble but I thought I’d sort of work through the thought process here. I know I’d probably want to lead off with a song 1 from any album because sometimes they are put in that spot for a reason.

My initial thought was Kasey Chambers- “Cry Like A Baby” or “Barricades and Brick Walls” just because I think she has a cool voice and I just really dig female roots/country singers.
Then I was walking around with my Ipod and Yo La Tengo’s version of “Little Honda” popped on and I just thought., “This is one of the coolest covers ever and such a good summer song for just driving in a car and having wind blow in your hair.” Seeing as though I was walking in the sun with a breeze blowing, this appealed to me immediately. So I have my leadoff. I’m not even sure if I’m going to be the next person making a mix but a lot of thought goes into it. All I’ve come up with so far is a lead off. But I have some ideas of what I’m going to do.

Making a mix is not the same as it used to be. I still love making tape mixes but nobody wants those anymore. You have to make it on CD because that or MP3’s is the only real valid form of portable music now. There always seemed to be an art to making the perfect mix. You would sit by your stereo listening to the song as you put it on the mix. Then, you would sort of get a feel for how the song ended so you would know what song would fit perfectly right after. I used to sit out with all of my CD’s just strewn all over my bed and I knew that the moment that the song I was taping ended, I would be able to just grab the perfect song and somehow it would all come together. Now you can just drag stuff into a playlist and burn it.

The Good Ol’ Days of Mix Tapes: Car mix Circa 1999 sometime.

I’ve only made one CD mix for anyone before and it was for my mom for Mother’s Day because I know she didn’t really care how a song sounded coming out of another song, but I still took great care and listened through each song as though I was making a mix tape. It was sort of an experiment to find out if making a mix cd could ever live up to the sensation. It just didn’t. Whenever I was making a mix I used to sort of set a 3 to 5 hour block aside just so I didn’t have to do anything else. I miss mix tapes, but hopefully this mix cd experience will help me grown into the cd mix age.

Leave a Reply

 
