Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Mike Myers Syndrome

Posted by evankessler on June 11, 2004

The world is officially an awful place. William Hung’s album of bad cover songs has sold over 100,000 copies; Queer Eye for the Straight guy is still on TV and people care that Jennifer Lopez married Marc Anthony. I just read that William Hung has also recorded a version of “We Are The Champions.” My concept of reality has been completely turned upside down. When I say reality I don’t mean reality television. Somebody has to stop this. Seriously, somebody do something. Our culture has begun kowtowing to the lowest common denominator and I think we should really make a conscious effort to encourage people to actually seek out their own original ideas otherwise in ten years our only dialogue with each other will be through movie and television catchphrases.

“You’re being relieved of your duties with this company!”

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard people saying “Do it. Do it” a la Ben Stiller from Starsky and Hutch and “You’re fired” like Donald Trump on the apprentice in the past few weeks. Don’t get me wrong, people have been doing this for years, especially with films such as Taxi Driver and Dirty Harry. However, it appears to me that a large portion of movies being released these days are made for the sole purpose of unleashing an unlimited amount of new catchphrases for the public’s incessant repetition. No one can say anything original anymore. And what bothers me more is if I even use the words “do it”, people will assume that I’m imitating Ben Stiller. I can’t simply use the words “do it” of my own accord; it has to be a fucking imitation. I haven’t even seen Starsky and Hutch. I’ll be the first to admit that I have imitated movie lines before, but half the lines I say, no one ever really gets. I feel like this whole epidemic should be labeled Mike Myers syndrome.

Mike Myers is the king of the “Catchphrase Film” which for him is a victory, but for me, a nuisance. Mike Myers has single handedly turned the current moviegoing generation (this means anyone that goes to movies I guess) into copycat comedians (need a better term for that maybe, Complete Morons will suffice.). That’s not to say that these phrases were never funny. Some were, some weren’t. The fact that all of these catchphrases have been universally embraced into the lexicon by a generation and simultaneously overused is what ultimately leads to their downfall. I think what amazes me the most is his ability to make sequels to these films using the exact same jokes and catchphrases and everyone still finds it just as funny as the first time. I guess what it comes down to is that in general I don’t enjoy slang, except for the word “dude” and maybe a few curse words.

“One Million Catchphrases”

Let’s look at Mike Myers resume of quotes dating back to Wayne’s World. While many of these lines do not bear cultural weight anymore, some still do:

Schwing!-

No Way! Way!-

A Sphincter Says What?

We’re Not Worthy!

Hurl – I just throw up or vomit.

Sha, Right!

Ex-squeeze me? Baking powder?

No guff chet

And Monkeys might fly out of my butt – People starting saying this around 92′
Even Madonna got into the act

One Million Dollars! (Dr. Evil)- C’mon annoying people are still using this one.

Shagadelic!

Should we shag now or should we shag later? – There’s no reason to ever say
This.

Do I make you horny baby? – In general I just hate anyone pretending to be
Austin Powers

Get in my belly! – Morons doing Scottish accents.

Yeah Baby, Yeah! – I could hear Pat O’Brien on entertainment tonight saying
This in my head as he does any news story on Mike Myers.

Leave a Reply

 
