Evan Kessler Dot Com

The Home of the Brave

Summer In The City

Posted by evankessler on June 10, 2004

Well, it’s official, Summer is upon us. Well not exactly official. We haven’t hit the solstice yet, but the annually short lived New York City Spring season has passed us by and it’s on to the sweltering heat and humidity of the traditional New York City Summer. I think we missed out on a lot of the wonderfully torrid weather last summer as the rain poured down on the city for the first two months, but have no fear. I don’t think we’re in for a repeat performance. Why, just this evening I spent 5 hours in Rockefeller Plaza feeling like I needed a shower as I sat through a three hour wait and an hour and forty-five minutes of Napoleon Dynamite. At times we were blessed with a nice breeze so it wasn’t that bad but sitting on folding chairs for that long is never a delight for the buttocks.

As for the movie, I can’t say it was worth it. Maybe I’d feel different if I was in a more comfortable air conditioned theatre as opposed to the outdoors which as of 6pm according to weather.com said that it was 92 degrees outside but felt like 97. I don’t think I’ll ever understand this. If it feels like 97 degrees then why isn’t it simply 97 degrees. If it feels like 97 degrees to me, wouldn’t it feel like 97 degrees to a thermometer, obviously not. Plus, I don’t think I would ever say it feels like 97 degrees if in reality it was 92. I would probably come up with some gross exaggeration like 300 degrees. I mean if you really wanted to illustrate how hot it felt I think the exaggeration is the way to go. Honestly I don’t really know the difference between what 92 degrees and 97 degrees feels like. All I know is that it’s unbearably hot and I don’t want to stay outside and sweat off half of my bodyweight, though those looking to diet by using this method should spend any amount of time simply standing in the bathroom sweatbox in my apartment during one of these horribly humid days. I guarantee positive results.

Leave a Reply

 
